BIA-Hawaii President Greg Thielen

The Building Industry Association of Hawaii (BIA-Hawaii) ushers in a new slate of officers for 2013.

Greg Thielen is the new president and guides the leadership team of president-elect Brian Adachi of BKA Builders Inc.; vice-president Sunny Walsh of Hunt Building Company Ltd.; secretary Richard Hobson, Jr. of Gentry Homes Ltd.; treasurer Guy J. Shindo of First Hawaiian Bank; special appointee-builder Paul D. Silen of Hawaiian Dredging Construction Co. Inc.; special appointee-associate Craig Washofsky of Servco Home & Appliance Distribution; immediate past president Dean I. Asahina of Universal Construction Inc.; and chief executive officer of BIA-Hawaii, Karen T. Nakamura.


Thielen is the president of Complete Construct-ion Services Corp. He will lead the incoming 2013 Board, which also includes Scotty Anderson of Pacific Rim Partners; W. Bruce Barrett of Castle & Cooke Homes Hawaii Inc.; Anthony Borge of RMA Sales; David Chang of CS Design Builders; Clifton Crawford of C & J Contracting Inc.; Ryan Engle of Bays Lung Rose & Holma; Evan Fujimoto of Graham Builders Inc.; Marshall Hickox of Homeworks Construction Inc.; Mark Kennedy of HASEKO Construction Inc.; Gary T. Okimoto of Honolulu Wood Treating; Dean Uchida of SSFM International Inc.; and Michael Watanabe of JW Inc.

Chartered in 1955, the Building Industry Association of Hawaii is a professional trade organization affiliated with the National Association of Home Builders, representing the building industry and its associates. The 500 members of BIA-Hawaii are developers, contractors, suppliers, Realtors, architects, financial institutions and a host of other professionals who serve the building industry. BIA-Hawaii takes a leadership role in unifying and promoting the interests of the industry to enhance the quality of life for the people of Hawaii.

Karen Nakamura is executive vice president/CEO of the Building Industry Association of Hawaii.